London Marathon

London Marathon


Meet David Alvarez, Director of AZ Autos and who is using our Charity place in the London Marathon to fundraise for Phase as well as the Barcelona Ironman*. We asked David a few questions and here are his replies:

Tells us something about yourself.

My passion is improvement. I try and achieve this through my business and my hobby which is triathlons. As a young child and teenager I lacked ambition, focus and was overweight. These things changed when I found ways to apply myself. This started off in my earlier sales career and then I became a keen runner.

What do you enjoy doing?

I have two kids aged 7 months and 2 and a half, which I love hanging out with. My 2 yr old boy is at a really good age to go out walking the dog and generally run around with. I also love cooking, I find it similar to running - it allows you to switch off from general day to day stresses and focus on a task. On the rare occasion I get to go out in the evening, my first choice is always the cinema, the last film I saw was Thor which I would definitely say is worth a watch.

Why did you choose Phase as your charity to support?

Phase and AZ Autos do a lot of work together. I think they are a great charity and I really believe in investing in the younger generation. I believe that when helping young people you could be having a dramatically positive effect on their future, the people around them and perhaps (from a business perspective) the future economy. That's why I feel Phase do such important work in schools and when we have teamed up in work placement initiatives.


You can sponsor David's efforts by following this link.

*What is an Ironman challenge? Consisting of a 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike and 26.2-mile run, IRONMAN events take place in some of the most scenic locations around the world.